Beauty

Winter Skin Care Routine

IMG_0814Winter weather = dry, dry skin!  I normally have dry sensitive skin but during the winter months my skin is more irritated than ever.  I have tried for years to find the right combination of skin care products that will hydrate and relieve my redness without irritation but have failed.  That is, however until now!  My winter skin care routine consists of only two products: Simple Micellar Cleansing Water and Kate Somerville Eczema Therapy Cream.

Before I jump into a review of the products, let’s first talk about skin for a second.  As we age, our skin becomes thinner, loses its elasticity (which causes wrinkles), and is more prone to dryness.  Overly dry skin has a harder time protecting nerve endings which can result in sensitive skin.  Sensitive skin can also be caused by your body’s reaction to environmental factors (think allergens), hormones, stress, or various other factors.  So, if you already have sensitive skin to begin with then dryness can make skin more irritated.  This is why it is so important to keep skin hydrated and use products that wont irritate skin further because that too can also cause dryness.  It’s a vicious cycle!

Okay, so now that you know why it is important to keep skin hydrated, lets talk about my skin care routine.

Simple Micellar Cleansing Water:

What it does/How it works:  Micellar water has become a favorite among make up artists and beauty editors because of how easy it is to use and the skin loving benefits it provides.  Like the name says, it’s water (purified) but packed full of multivitamins and other skin relieving products that help unclog pores and hydrate the skin.  Micellar water traps oil and dirt and dissolves the impurities so there is no need use facial soap.  What makes micellar water different than facial soap is it is more gentle, less irritating, and most importantly, hydrating.

What I like:  The thing I like the most about this product it how easy it is to use; just pour some on a cotton ball and swipe all over your face and your done.  I use Simple because they don’t use any artificial fragrances or dyes so I know it wont irritate my skin.  The price is also a big bonus, only $6.99 per bottle.

What I don’t like:  Honestly, I don’t think there is one thing about this product I don’t like.

Kate Somerville Eczema Cream:

What it does/how it works:  I have never been diagnosed with eczema but the amazing people at Sephora recommended this product based on its awesome healing properties.  This is thick cream formulated with collidal oatmeal which helps create a barrier to protect skin (or those nerve endings as mentioned above), a lipid complex to relieve redness, Blackcurrant Seed Oil and Balloon Vine Extract to sooth irritation, and Japanese kelp to hydrate.

What I like:  I use this cream both am and pm and what I like about it is that it’s not greasy, absorbs quickly, and is really hydrating.  A little goes a long ways so I don’t feel like I am ever wasteful.

What I don’t like:  The only downside is the price, $48 per bottle.  I have found a few drugstore eczema creams (Gold Bond Eczema Cream $9.99, Eucerin Eczema Cream $6.99) however, they do not say specifically for face so it would make me a little nervous about breakouts.

Leave a Reply

